Prof. Michael Rubinstein

About the author

Michael Rubinstein received B.S. from Caltech in 1979 and Ph.D. in physics from Harvard University in 1983. After two years as a post-doc at AT&T Bell Laboratories he joined Research Laboratories of Eastman Kodak Company where he worked for 10 years. In 1995 Michael Rubinstein moved to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he is currently a John P. Barker Distinguished Professor. In 1998 he was Visiting Professor at College de France and in 2013 he was awarded Michelin Science Chair at ESPCI.  In 2003 he published a textbook “Polymer Physics” with R. H. Colby. In 2004 Michael Rubinstein was a co-chair of the Gordon Research Conference on Macromolecular, Colloidal and Polyelectrolyte Solutions. In 2008-2009 he was a Chair of the Division of Polymer Physics of the American Physical Society.

Michael Rubinstein served as Chair of the Editorial Board of Soft Matter and as Associate Editor of Macromolecules. In 2010 he received the Polymer Physics Prize of the American Physical Society. Rubinstein is currently serving as the Chair of the IUPAP Working Group on Soft Matter.

Advances in Engineering featured article: Nanoparticle Motion in Entangled Melts of Linear and Nonconcatenated Ring Polymers.   [/author]

Check Also


Professor Jörg J. Schneider